Appointments to the Insolvency Rules Committee

Insolvency Rules Committee

December 15
12:00 2016

The Lord Chancellor has appointed David Leibowitz for 3 years (1 December 2016 to 31 November 2019) as practising solicitor member, re-appointed Alison Broad as accountant member for 3 years (8 August 2017 to 7 August 2020), and re-appointed Antony Zacaroli as barrister member for 3 years (29 July 2017 to 28 July 2020) to the Insolvency Rules Committee (IRC).

These appointments to IRC have been made by the Lord Chancellor in consultation with the Chancellor of the High Court on behalf of the Lord Chief Justice and are regulated by the Commissioner for public appointments. The appointments have been made in line with the Commissioners Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies.

IRC considers amendments to the rules arising out of a review of secondary legislation, giving their recommendations to the Lord Chancellor. IRC members are from the legal and accountancy professions. They provide their services on a voluntary and unremunerated basis.

David Leibowitz

David is a partner in the Restructuring and Insolvency Department at Berwin Leighton Paisner (BLP) LLP.

David acts for banks, insolvency practitioners, trade creditors, directors, shareholders, the Insolvency Service and foreign lawyers on both domestic and cross border insolvencies. He has extensive experience in dispute resolution in the context of commercial fraud, cases concerning validity of security, asset recovery, guarantees, directors duties, transactional avoidance and disqualification proceedings.

David is a CEDR accredited mediator. He writes and lecture

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: