Appointments made to the Royal Mint Advisory Committee

Royal Mint Advisory Committee

April 19
08:50 2021

The Royal Mint Advisory Committee on the Design of Coins, Medals, Seals and Decorations was established in 1922 and advises the Chancellor on new designs for United Kingdom coins. It also advises government departments on new designs for official medals and seals. Its members are appointed by the Queen on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and the Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Baroness Stuart was appointed chair for a term of five years from 1 March 2021 to 28 February 2026 and Mr ODonoghue and Professor Ridley were appointed for a second term until 31 December 2023, while Professor Bainess second term runs until 30 April 2023.

Commenting on her appointment, the new Chair of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee, Baroness Gisela Stuart said:

Being asked to Chair the Advisory Committee is an honour and I look forward to working with all members of the Committee as well as the Royal Mint and the Treasury.

Further information

  • These appointments were made in accordance with the Code of Practice published by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA). This post was advertised on the HM Government Public Appointments website and the appointment is a result of a fair and open competition. Applicants were considered by an impartial interview Panel and a recommendation for appointment was made by Ministers and approved by the Queen.
  • Positions on the Royal Mint Advisory Committee are unpaid.
  • The vacancy of Chair arose as a result of Lord Waldegrave of North Hill reaching the end of his term in office. We thank him for his service to the Committee.
  • Baroness Stuart joined the House of Lords in 2020 as a non-party affiliated peer. She is currently the Chair of the Wilton Park Board and Advisory Council, as well as the Lead Non-Executive Director of the Cabinet Office Departmental Board. During her time as an MP for Birmingham Edgbaston, she was part of the selection panel for a public artwork and sculpture competition to represent The Real Birmingham Family for the Ikon Gallery. She has also worked with the Barber Institute and has informally advised the British Art Market Federation for over a decade.
  • Hughie ODonoghue RA, born in Manchester, is an artist whose paintings engage with themes of history, memory and identity.
  • Jane Ridley is Professor of Modern History at the University of Buckingham and a biographer of King Edward VII.
  • Professor Phil Baines takes up the position of the Committees Lettering Expert.
  • All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Baroness Gisela Stuart is an unaffiliated member of the House of Lords. Previously, she has served as a Member of Parliament for Birmingham Edgbaston from 1997-2017. In the last five years she has made several donations to the Labour Party to the sum of 15,000.
  • Mr ODonoghue, Professor Ridley, and Professor Baines have confirmed they have not engaged in any political activi

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: