Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport Reappoints Three Board Members and Extends the Terms of Three Board Members of the British Film Institute (BFI).

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

April 21
15:23 2017

The Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP has reappointed Pete Czernin, Jonathan Ross OBE and Andrea Wong for terms of four years, ending on 25 February 2021, and has extended the terms of Tom Hooper, Matthew Justice and Lisbeth Savill by 12 months, ending on 29 May 2018.

Pete Czernin

Pete Czernin is a British Film Producer best known for In Bruges (2008), The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011) and its sequel (2015), Seven Psychopaths (2012) and The Riot Club (2014), among others. He currently oversees the film and television slates at Blueprint Pictures, a London-based film and television production company that he established in 2004 with Graham Broadbent. Blueprint will release two films later this year, 3 Billboards South of Ebbing Missouri and The Mercy. They are currently shooting Guernsey.

Jonathan Ross OBE

Jonathan Ross is a mainstay of British television and radio, rarely off the airwaves either as a presenter or as a host of his own distinctive style of celebrity guest interviews. He presented over two hundred episodes of the BBCs iconic chat show Friday Night with Jonathan Ross, which won five BAFTA Awards. In 1999 Jonathan cemented his reputation as a passionate lover of cinema when he became Barry Normans successor to the BBC One flagship film show, a position he held until 2010. In 2011 Jonathan joined ITV to present The Jonathan Ross Show which is currently on air today. Other career highlights include hosting the BAFTAs, Comic Relief (BBC1), Channel 4?s Comedy Gala in aid of Great Ormond Street Hospital, and The Royal Variety Performance (BBC1).

Andrea Wong

Andrea Wong holds the dual roles of President, International Production for Sony Pictures Television (SPT) and President, International for Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE). Based in London, Wong heads Sony Pictures Televisions 18 overseas production companies, creating nearly 1,300 hours of entertainment around the world each year. Among her achievements in this role, Wong brought to SPT The Crown, winner of Golden Globes for Best Drama Television Series and Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series among other accolades. As President, International for Sony Pictures Entertainment, Wong guides the company on matters impacting international production, and champions the studios interests abroad.

Previously, Wong served as president and CEO of Lifetime Networks, where she oversaw the day-to-day operations of Lifetime Television, Lifetime Movie Network, Lifetime Real Women, and Lifetime Digital, including programming, marketing, advertising sales, affiliate sales, public affairs, business and legal affairs, strategic planning, operations and research. During her time there she saw Army Wives become Lifetimes top-rated original series ever and spearheaded Lifetimes acquisition of Project Runway. Prior to that, Wong was executive vice president, alternative programming, specials and late night at ABC where she developed shows such as The Bachelor, the U.S version of Dancing With the Stars and the Emmy-award winning Extreme Makeover: Home Edition.

Wong graduated MIT with a degree in electrical engineering and received an MBA from Stanford University. She serves on the boards of Liberty Media Corporation, Liberty Interactive Corporation and Hudsons Bay Company. Wong is a Henry Crown Fellow of the Aspen Institute. She is also a member of the governing board of the British Film Institute, a Trustee of the Royal Academy of Arts, and serves on the Stanford Graduate School of Business Advisory Council.

Tom Hooper

Tom Hoopers The Danish Girl won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress (Alicia Vikander) and was nominated for three more Oscars including Best Actor (Eddie Redmayne). The Danish Girl was nominated for three Golden Globes, five BAFTAs and two SAG Awards (with Alicia Vikander winning Best Supporting Actress) - Tom Hooper was nominated for The Alexander Korda Award for Outstanding British Film. Hoopers Les Miserables won three Oscars and three Golden Globes including Best Picture (Musical/Comedy). Tom Hooper won the Academy Award for directing The Kings Speech. The film won four Oscars including Best Picture. Hoopers television work has won ten Golden Globes and 22 Emmy awards. John Adams won the most Emmys ever awarded in one year. Hooper won the Best Director Emmy for Elizabeth I. At age 18, Hooper wrote, directed and produced the short film Painted Faces, which was his first film to be released theatrically and was shown on Channel 4. Tom Hooper made his first film Runaway Dog when he was 13 years old, shot on a Clockwork 16mm Bolex camera, using 100 feet of film.

Matthew Justice

Matthew Justice is Managing Director of Big Talk, winner of Best Independent Production Company at the Broadcast Awards 2017. Matthew has executive produced multiple award-winning motion pictures and television series, including the films Attack the Block, Sightseers, Cuban Fury, Man Up and the TV series, Free Agents (US and UK series), Rev, Him & Her, A Young Doctors Notebook, Crashing, Raised by Wolves, Houdini & Doyle and is currently executive producing Bliss, Back, Mum and Cold Feet. He has overseen the restructuring of Big Talk over the past ten years, including BBCWorldwides investment in Big Talk in 2008 and the sale of Big Talk to ITV Studios in 2013. Prior to Big Talk, Matthew ran his own production label, Lunar Films, through which he produced David Mackenzies Berlin Silver Bear-winning Hallam Foe, and Cedric Klapischs multiple Csar-winning The Russian Dolls. After starting his career at The Moving Picture Company, Matthew produced Michel Gondrys award-winning commercials for Levis and Smirnoff. He also worked as Stephen Norringtons producing partner on Blade, The Last Minute and Death Machine. Matthew is a founding member of the advisory board of the Creative Business MA at the National Film and Television School.

Lisbeth Savill

Lisbeth (Libby) Savill is a partner in Latham & Watkins Entertainment, Sports and Media Practice. She is also the Deputy Chair of the BFI. In her practice, she represents major studios, independent producers, and distributors of film and television content, as well as strategic investors and financial institutions, in their commercial arrangements in the media and entertainment sectors. Ms. Savill has been recognised as a leading lawyer in the film and television industries for many years and is actively involved in issues important to the entertainment sector. For example, she served as the only lawyer on the 2011/2012 and 2013/2014 Film Policy Review commissioned by the UK government to make recommendations for the future of the film industry.

Board Members of the BFI are not remunerated. These reappointments and extensions have been made in accordance with the Cabinet Offices Governance Code on Public Appointments. It is a requirement of the Code that political activity by those appointed is declared. Pete Czernin, Jonathan Ross OBE, Andrea Wong, Tom Hooper, Matthew Justice and Lisbeth Savill have declared that they have not carried out any political activity.

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: