New non-executive directors appointed to the Competition and Markets Authority Board

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

October 12
12:00 2016

Business and Energy Secretary Greg Clark has appointed Martin Coleman, Jonathan Scott and Amelia Fletcher OBE as non-executive directors to the Competition and Markets Authority Board. Sarah Chambers and Anne Lambert CMG have also been appointed as panel member non-executive directors to the CMA Board. Martin Coleman will join the board from October 2017.

Non-executive directors of the Competition and Markets Authority Board play a key role in providing leadership and direction to the organisation, working with the chair and chief executive.

As board members, they will also be responsible for:

  • setting the organisations strategic direction and policy framework
  • developing priorities
  • monitoring performance against its objectives
  • making decisions on Market Investigation References

The CMA, a non-ministerial department, is the UKs primary competition and consumer authority. It has responsibility for carrying out investigations into mergers, markets and the regulated industries and enforcing competition and consumer law.

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: