Appendix - GAEC 3: Groundwater

Rural Payments Agency

December 13
16:46 2019

Applicable from 01/01/2018

A hazardous substance is any substance or group of substances that are toxic, persistent and liable to bio accumulate, or that give an equivalent level of concern. In particular, this includes the following (where they meet the criteria above):

a.organohalogen compounds and substances which may form such compounds in the aquatic environment

b.organophosphorous compounds

c.organotin compounds

d.substances and preparations, or the breakdown products of such, which have been proved to possess carcinogenic or mutagenic properties or properties which may affect steroidogenic, thyroid, reproduction or other endocrine related functions in or via the aquatic environment

e.hydrocarbons and organic substances


g.metals (in particular, cadmium and mercury) and their compounds

h.arsenic and its compounds

i.biocides and plant protection products.

In accordance with the Environmental Permitting Regulations 2016, Schedule 22, the Environment Agency publishes:

  • a list of substances that it considers to be hazardous under these regulations
  • the criteria for determining toxicity, persistence and bioaccumulation.

These are available on GOV.UK, search for Hazardous substances to groundwater: minimum reporting values, or call the National Customer Contact Centre enquiry line on 03708 506506 to ask for the information.

A non-hazardous pollutant, as defined in the Environmental Permitting Regulations 2016, is any substance liable to cause pollution that is not a hazardous substance.