Press release: ECNI Commissioner Extensions

Northern Ireland Office

October 29
15:30 2019

The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Rt. Hon Julian Smith MP has extended theappointments of four members of the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland.

The terms of office of Eileen Chan-Hu, Duane Farrell, Helen Ferguson and JarlathKearney have been extended for a three month period ending on 28 February 2020.

Notes to Editors:

The extensions are part of a long term strategy announced in 2018 by the then Secretaryof State to introduce a more staggered approach to future appointments and improvebusiness continuity. A competition is underway to recruit a number of new Commissionerswho will take up office from 1 March 2020.

Biographies of Appointees

Biographies can be found at:

Terms of Appointment

The positions are part-time.The position of Commissioner attracts an annual remuneration of 5,000.These positions are non-pensionable.

Political Activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selectionprocess. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is arequirement for appointees political activity in defined categories within the last five yearsto be made public.Eileen Chan-Hu stood at the local council elections in 2014 as a NI21 candidate andJa

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: