New commissioner members appointed to Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission

Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission

June 17
13:03 2016

The new Commissioners are:

  • Mrs Xenia Wickett, Head, US and the Americas Programme, and Dean, Queen Elizabeth II Academy, Chatham House
  • Mrs Barbara Ridpath, Director, St Pauls Institute
  • Lord Wood of Anfield, House of Lords
  • Professor Brian Cantor CBE, Vice-Chancellor at the University of Bradford
  • Mrs Suzanne McCarthy, member of the Board of the Fundraising Regulator and Chair of its Standards Committee; Chairman, Depaul UK
  • Mr Alan Bookbinder, Director of the Sainsbury Family Charitable Trusts

Commenting on the appointments the Foreign Secretary, Philip Hammond, said:

The Marshall Scholarship Scheme is widely considered one of the most prestigious scholarships for US citizens to study in the UK. As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring special relationship between our 2 countries.

Marshall Alumni go on to become prominent leaders in their chosen field. To date they include the CEO of LinkedIn, Supreme Court Justices, Members of the US Congress and Presidential Cabinet, the Managing Editors of TIME and CNN and even an astronaut. The high quality examples of Alumni serve as a symbol of the success of the Marshall Scheme.

I welcome the 6 newly appointed Commission members, who I am certain will ensure that the vital contribution made by the Marshall Scholarship Scheme to our special relationship continues for many years to come.

In addition to the Chairman, Christopher Fisher, the other continuing members of the Commission are Janet Legrand, a partner and Senior Elected Board Member at DLA Piper, and Professor Simon Newman, Professor of American History at the University of Glasgow.

MACC Chairman Christopher Fisher added:

I am delighted that we have been able to attract such a high calibre group of individuals to become new Marshall Commissioners. The Marshall Scholarship Programme has a fantastic track record in maintaining and renewing strong Anglo-American ties. The Commission is fully committed to sustaining the scale, quality and vitality of this programme.


The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission administers the British Marshall Scholarship scheme, which finances young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the UK.

Up to 40 Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Commissioners serve for a term of 3 years, with the possibility of re-appointment for a second term. The appointment is unpaid.

You can read more about the Commissioners on the Marshall Scholarship site.

Further information

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: