Civil/crime news: restructure looks to the future

Legal Aid Agency

September 12
10:00 2016

A new executive leadership team has been created for the Legal Aid Agency (LAA).

The new team will hold responsibility for high-level strategy and business planing decisions. It will also report into, and work with, the non-executive board.

One senior leader will be leaving the organisation Director of Legal Aid Commissioning and Strategy, Hugh Barrett. He is leaving the LAA on September 16 after almost 8 years. During this time he led on strategic and commissioning activities. His responsibilities are being picked up by other senior leaders.

Chief Executive Shaun McNally said: Id like to thank Hugh for the huge contribution he has made during his time with the organisation.

I believe the changes we are now making will help us to capitalise on the achievements of the first few years of the LAAs existence. Our aim is to build on our successes in a number of areas. For example, faster processing, clearing backlogs and reducing errors.

Executive leadership team

Executive leadership team headed by Chief Executive, Shaun McNally CBE
Director of Finance and Digital, James McEwen Head of Assurance, Amana Humayan
Deputy Director of Digital, Laurence Lewis Head of Corporate Centre, Sally Jones
Head of High Cost Civil Complex Cases, Malcolm Bryant Head of Contract Management, John Sirodcar
Joint Heads of Service Development and Commissioning, Lynn Evans/Laura Wensley Head of Public Defender Service, Clare Toogood
Head of Crime Case Management, Daniel Flury Principal Legal Adviser to the LAA, Ruth Wayte
Head of Planning and Performance is currently vacant HR Director, Joyce Irvine
Head of Civil Case Management, Jane Harbottle

Role of new committees

There are 5 new committees with senior managers and subject matter experts to support the executive leadership team. They will have an important role in helping the leadership team, which in turn will support the board in providing oversight of the LAAs delivery priorities.

  • Investment Committee, chaired by James McEwen with Adrian Hannell
  • Operations Committee, chaired by Jane Harbottle with Ruth Wayte
  • Finance and Risk Committee, chaired by Adrian Hannell with Amana Humayun
  • Change Board, chaired by Daniel Flury
  • People Committee, chaired by Claire Toogood with Lynn Evans/Laura Wensley

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: