New appointments for the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee

Department for Transport

April 3
15:10 2014

The Department for Transport has appointed 7 new members and re-appointed 5 existing ones to the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee (DPTAC).

These appointments strengthen DPTACs role in providing independent advice and challenging the government on transport issues for disabled people.

DPTAC supports disabled people in travelling for work and leisure, driving forward the economy and allowing disabled people to play a full part in society. The committee encourages the government to improve transport legislation and guidance for disabled people.

The members of the new committee are:

  • Will Bee
  • Sharon Brennan
  • Helen Dolphin
  • Olav Ernstzen
  • Kirsten Hearn
  • Heather James
  • Paulette Lappin
  • Roger Mackett
  • David Partington MBE
  • Andrew Probert
  • Jessica Uguccioni
  • Tanvi Vyas

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.

The Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee (DPTAC) is a statutory body established under Section 125 of the Transport Act 1985 to advise the Secretary of State for Transport on matters affecting the transport needs of disabled people.

Appointments are made for 3 years and are subject to Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments reappointment rules.

Office address and general enquiries

Department for Transport
Great Minster House
33 Horseferry Road


We aim to respond within 20 working days.

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: