Prime Minister appoints Interim Chair to NHMF

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

September 11
09:38 2014

Dame Seona Reid DBE FRSA

Dame Seona retired as Director of Glasgow School of Art in 2013 after 14 years. She had previously held senior roles at major arts institutions including the Scottish Arts Council, Greater London Arts and Ballet Rambert. She is currently Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland and of Cove Park, an artist residency centre. She is also a Tate Trustee and a member of the Universities UK Creative Industries Project Steering Group.

Dame Seona is the senior Deputy Chair at NHMF. The process of recruiting a new Chair for NHMF, to succeed Dame Jenny Abramsky DBE who completed her term of appointment on 31 August 2014, is currently under way and is expected to be completed by December 2014.

The National Heritage Memorial Fund was set-up in 1980 to save the most outstanding parts of our heritage at risk of loss to the nation, as a memorial to those who have given their lives for the UK. The Fund receives grant-in-aid from the government. It also administers the Heritage Lottery Fund, which is the largest dedicated funder of the UKs heritage, with around 375 million a year to distribute.

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: