Two members reappointed to Big Lottery Fund UK Board

Cabinet Office

September 5
10:00 2016

The Minister for the Cabinet Office, Ben Gummer, has reappointed Astrid Bonfield and Tony Burton as members of the Big Lottery Fund UK Board. Tony? Burton? will continue in his role as Vice Chair of the fund.

Their reappointments will commence on 1 December 2016.

Their experience will provide continuity during an exciting time for the fund and the communities it serves, as it implements its strategic framework programme.

Notes to editors

Astrid Bonfield is Chief Executive of The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust and was previously Chief Executive of The Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund. She also chaired the European Funders Group for HIV/Aids and the Corston Coalition of Independent Grantmakers and is a Trustee of The International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness.

Tony Burton has over 25 years experience on the executive boards of major charities such as National Trust and Campaign to Protect Rural England. He is the Founder of Civic Voice, Vice Chair of Friends of the Earth and a trustee of TCV and mySociety. He has wide experience of community action across the breadth of voluntary organisations and community groups and is Executive Chair of Sustainable Homes. Tony also advises HS2 on both design and sustainable development and is a leading neighbourhood planner.

These reappointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies.

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: