Detailed guide: Honours committees

Cabinet Office

February 18
16:19 2021

Honours committees are made up of senior civil servants (official members) and people who are independent of government (independent members). All honours committees have a majority of members who are independent.

Each honours committee has an independent chairperson. A representative from 10 Downing Street is invited to attend all committee meetings.

Honours committees review honours nominations for people involved in specific activities (like arts and media or sport) which are then sent to the Main Honours Committee.

Main committee


  • Sir Tom Scholar KCB - Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury (Chair)
  • The Cabinet Secretary
  • Chair of Arts and Media Committee: Rupert Gavin
  • Chair of Community and Voluntary Services Committee: Dame Louise Casey DBE CB
  • Chair of Economy Committee: Sir Ian Cheshire
  • Chair of Education Committee: Sir Daniel Moynihan
  • Chair of Health Committee: The Rt Hon The Lord Kakkar
  • Chair of Parliamentary and Political Service Committee: Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury CBE
  • Chair of Public Services Committee: Professor Dame Barbara Monroe DBE
  • Chair of Science and Technology Committee: Professor Sir John Bell GBE FRS
  • Chair of Sport Committee: The Rt Hon Sir Hugh Robertson KCMG DL
  • Chair of State Committee: Mark Addison CB
  • The Permanent Under Secretary, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
  • The Chief of the Defence Staff

Arts and Media

Rupert Gavin Chair, Historic Royal Palaces (Independent Chair)

Independent members:

  • Sir Peter Bazalgette - Chair, ITV
  • Sir Nicholas Kenyon CBE - Managing Director, Barbican Centre
  • Kanya King CBE - CEO, MOBO Organisation Ltd
  • Caroline Michel - Chair, Hay Literary Festival
  • Kenneth Olumuyiwa Tharp CBE - Freelance Arts Professional
  • Alice Rawsthorn OBE - Design critic and author.

Official members:

  • Sarah Healey CB - Permanent Secretary, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
  • Leslie Evans - Permanent Secretary, Scottish Government

Community and Voluntary Service

Chair: Dame Louise Casey DBE CB (Independent Chair)

Independent members:

  • Harris Bokhari OBE - Co-founder of the Naz Legacy Foundation and Ambassador of British Asian Trust
  • Rabbi Dr Harvey Belovski - Senior Rabbi, Golders Green Synagogue; Chief Strategist and Rabbinic Head, University Jewish Chaplaincy
  • Carly Jones MBE - Autism Advocate
  • Ros Kerslake CBE - Chief Executive, National Lottery Heritage Fund and National Heritage Memorial Fund
  • Adeeba Malik CBE - Deputy Chief Executive, QED UK
  • Waheed Saleem - Managing Director, Waldoc Ltd
  • Ben Summerskill OBE Chair, Silver Line and Director, Criminal Justice Alliance
  • John Booth Chairman, Princes Trust and Trustee, Tate

Official members:

  • Jeremy Pocklington CB Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
  • Dame Shan Morgan DCMG - Permanent Secretary, Welsh Government
  • Sarah Healey CB - Permanent Secretary, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

The Economy

Sir Ian Cheshire - Chairman, Barclays UK (Independent chair)

Independent members:

  • Professor Heather McGregor CBE - Executive Dean, Edinburgh Business School, Heriot-Watt University
  • Dame Minouche Shafik DBE - Director, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Dame Inga Beale - Group Chair, Mediclinic International
  • Sir Douglas Flint CBE Chairman, Standard Life Aberdeen
  • Dame Vivian Hunt DBE - Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company

  • 1 x Vacancy

Official members:

  • Sarah Munby, Permanent Secretary, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Sarah Healey CB - Permanent Secretary, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
  • Charles Roxburgh - Second Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury
  • Leslie Evans - Permanent Secretary, Scottish Government


Sir Daniel Moynihan Chief Executive, Harris Federation (independent chair)

Independent members:

  • Professor Sir David Eastwood DL - Vice Chancellor, University of Birmingham
  • Dr John Guy OBE - former sixth form principal and education consultant
  • Dame Asha Khemka DBE DL - British Educator
  • Dame Alison Peacock DBE DL - Chief Executive, Chartered College of Teaching
  • Professor Steven West CBE DL - Vice Chancellor, University of the West of England
  • 1 x vacancy

Official members:

  • Vacancy - Head of Northern Ireland Civil Service
  • Susan Acland-Hood Permanent Secretary, Department for Education


Professor The Lord Kakkar - Director, Thrombosis Research Institute (independent chair)

Independent members:

  • Sir David Behan CBE Chair, Health Education England
  • Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz Chair, Cancer Research UK and Vice-Chancellor Emeritus, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Jane Dacre - Professor of Medical Education, University College London and President, Medical Protection Society
  • Baroness Harding of Winscombe - Chair of NHS Improvement
  • Professor Karen Middleton CBE - Chief Executive, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
  • Professor Iqbal Singh OBE - Chair, Centre of Excellence and Safety for Older People
  • 1 x Vacancy

Official members:

  • Professor Chris Whitty CB - Chief Medical Officer (England)
  • David Williams CB - Director General, Finance, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Dr Andrew Goodall - Director General, Department for Health, Social Services and Children, Welsh Government

Parliamentary and Political Service

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury CBE - Member, House of Lords (Independent chair)

Independent members:

  • Dr Sue Griffiths - Managing Director, Social Development Direct
  • The Rt Hon The Lord Haselhurst
  • The Lord Lisvane KCB DL - Lately Clerk of the House of Commons
  • Dame Denise Platt Member, General Medical Council and Member, Solicitors Regulation Authority
  • Sir Paul Silk KCB Lately President, Study of Parliament Group
  • 1 x Vacancy

Official members:

  • The Rt Hon Mark Spencer MP - Government Chief Whip
  • The Rt Hon Nick Brown MP - Opposition Chief Whip

Public Service

Dame Barbara Monroe DBE - Trustee, Marie Curie and Special Commissioner, Royal Hospital Chelsea (Independent Chair)

Independent members:

  • Emir Feisal JP, Trustee, the Henry Smith Charity
  • Alistair Finlay OBE, Faculty Director of Operations, Queens University Belfast
  • Shonaig Macpherson CBE FRSE Chair, Robertson Trust
  • Maggy Pigott CBE - Lately Joint CEO, Judicial Studies Board
  • Riaz Ravat BEM

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: