Applying to the 2021 Clinical Excellence Awards competition

Advisory Committee On Clinical Excellence Awards

November 30
11:52 2020

The 2021 national Clinical Excellence Awards competition will open on Monday 7 December and close at 5pm on Thursday 18 March.

The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) will accept applications for new national awards from consultants and academic GPs working for the NHS in England and Wales and for renewed awards from those due to renew their award in 2021. This includes those who were due to renew in 2020 and whose awards were extended by one year.

Award holders will need to submit a renewal application if:

  • they received their current award in the 2017 round
  • their award was last renewed in 2016 (awarded in 2012, 2007, 2002)
  • their award was due to be renewed in 2020 and was extended by one year

In some cases, award holders will be renewing out of the usual cycle. Awards are reviewed earlier if there is a change in job or a significant change in job plan.

We are conscious of the pressures all our NHS staff are under and proud of the work they are doing to protect public health and wellbeing. As such, we have extended the application window from 8 to 14 weeks and have simplified the application process.

We will publish our 2021 application guidanc

Related Articles


  1. We don't have any comments for this article yet. Why not join in and start a discussion.

Write a Comment

Your name:
Your email:

Post my comment

Recent Comments

Follow Us on Twitter

Share This

Enjoyed this? Why not share it with others if you've found it useful by using one of the tools below: